MinMax Spaz

MinMax-Games.com

The water cooler of outer space
  
It is currently Tue 21 Nov, 2017 1:54 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Quad Turret mod
PostPosted: Mon 07 May, 2012 1:06 pm 
Offline
Volley
User avatar

Joined: Wed 25 Apr, 2012 8:44 am
Posts: 611
Made another mod.
This one is just a single item though.

The QUAD Turret!
Image
Attachment:
File comment: Quad Turret example.
2012-05-07_00009.jpg [68 KiB]
Not downloaded yet


Current in game availability?
Unlocks at start although rare and advanced (Red).
Turret size: Huge (Like Triple Turret)
individual mountpoint sizes: Large (like Triple Turret)

I tried to add it on the same unlock level as the Triple Turret, but it failed. (for current games)
It might be added normally on a new game, but haven't tested that.

Won't show in weapon research though, but will show at weapon selection.
{IMG}:Not in research
{IMG}:But you CAN select it
// NO LONGER! (currently still uses the "tutorial"image from the tripple mount)// NO LONGER! :D

Oh. I did not added this into any ship designs. So you're the only one using it. :twisted:
Unless the zombies manages to convert one of your quad turret ships. (YES! Zombie skin included!)

And yes. It DOES work :twisted:
Image
Attachment:
File comment: Sweet!
2012-05-07_00001.jpg [50.36 KiB]
Not downloaded yet


It took a HUGE amount of file editing (and a lot of files too) To add this into the game.

Oh. Right almost forgot.
Here is the mod itself.
Attachment:
File comment: Quad Turrent mod!!

Latest code version.
Large & huge triple&quad turret.
Triple twice in listing though.

Quad_Turret.rar [152.65 KiB]
Downloaded 2350 times

Should I add this tech to my BigBeef mod? :roll: :twisted:

_________________
My BigBeef mod, Quad Turret mod & Master Dredge base Mod.
Modding for MY OWN Pleasure. :twisted:
Please Help with LoBWaM (List of Base Weapons and Modules)
Official SPAZ mod package (v2.0) Cause people cant find links anymore


Last edited by GTX2GvO on Mon 14 May, 2012 7:33 am, edited 4 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quad Turret mod
PostPosted: Mon 07 May, 2012 1:57 pm 
Offline
Volley
User avatar

Joined: Wed 25 Apr, 2012 8:44 am
Posts: 611
I've managed to fix the tutorial image.
Image
Attachment:
File comment: Correct quad turret tut image
2012-05-07_00013.jpg [89.87 KiB]
Not downloaded yet

DestinyAtlantis wrote:
Most definitely, but you should upgrade the reactor because if you use it on the hammerhead, you get 8 large, 2 medium, 2 small.


It inherits a lot from the triple mount turret. (data wise)
So I think it's increased energy use is negligible. (or else just 33% more)

Might be why swapping a triple turret for a quad costs you nothing more. (no refit cost)

Anyway. I'd better update the first post with the improved tutimage version.

_________________
My BigBeef mod, Quad Turret mod & Master Dredge base Mod.
Modding for MY OWN Pleasure. :twisted:
Please Help with LoBWaM (List of Base Weapons and Modules)
Official SPAZ mod package (v2.0) Cause people cant find links anymore


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quad Turret mod
PostPosted: Mon 07 May, 2012 2:09 pm 
Offline
Boomerang
User avatar

Joined: Mon 23 May, 2011 6:27 pm
Posts: 253
Location: UK
...I need a new tinfoil hat, evidently. :lol: I was thinking of doing a similar thing once I get into modding, since I want to overhaul the weapons completely at some point. Only difference is it'd be Medium mounts, not Large. There'd be one for Large turrets that split it into 4 Smalls too.

Why? Well firstly for balance (because splitting 1 Huge into 4x Large gives the turret ~264% of its prior firepower) and secondly because I'd be making certain weapons lose range as they increase in size. So if you prefer to fight at long range, it might be advantageous to use the lighter weapons.

A very big 'some point' though, since that means overhauling all the existing design plans and waiting for more documentation/tools though... and probably more things being open to modding.

_________________
THE HULL HAS BEEN BREACHED AND THE SCIENCE IS LEAKING OUT!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quad Turret mod
PostPosted: Mon 07 May, 2012 2:14 pm 
Offline
Ranger
User avatar

Joined: Sun 12 Jun, 2011 4:05 am
Posts: 304
Location: Manitoba, Canada
great. im going to wait till you finish tweaking for a day or two before i download it. id also rather it split into 4 mediums, just as whats-his-face over there.

_________________
*Stars mean Edits*


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quad Turret mod
PostPosted: Mon 07 May, 2012 2:20 pm 
Offline
Volley
User avatar

Joined: Wed 25 Apr, 2012 8:44 am
Posts: 611
Arcalane wrote:
...I need a new tinfoil hat, evidently. :lol: I was thinking of doing a similar thing once I get into modding....


I wanted a quad mount turret the moment I saw the triple mount turret. :D

But if you want. This mod is only containing the quad turret. So you could easily locate the differences and balance it out in your own edition. ;)
(as long as you credit me for the original work)

But keep in mind. I'm primarily modding on my BigBeef mod's behalf.
And that one will include more mount points per ship, bigger mount points per ship and better ship stats overall.

This mod is just MY side project and a good way to learn how link points work.
(I used the torque2D demo for link point checking)

_________________
My BigBeef mod, Quad Turret mod & Master Dredge base Mod.
Modding for MY OWN Pleasure. :twisted:
Please Help with LoBWaM (List of Base Weapons and Modules)
Official SPAZ mod package (v2.0) Cause people cant find links anymore


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quad Turret mod
PostPosted: Mon 07 May, 2012 3:46 pm 
Offline
Shortbus

Joined: Sat 05 May, 2012 5:01 pm
Posts: 6
This is awesome but I agree you should be trading down for more turrets of a smaller size instead of just getting more turrets :) It looks great though, very impressed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quad Turret mod
PostPosted: Mon 07 May, 2012 4:31 pm 
Offline
Boomerang
User avatar

Joined: Mon 23 May, 2011 6:27 pm
Posts: 253
Location: UK
DestinyAtlantis wrote:
But:
1 Huge Turret = 3 Large mounts
1 Large Turret = 2 Medium mounts
=>1 Huge Turret = 6+ Medium mounts


No, not even slightly accurate. The stats of a weapon of a given size class are 66% of the stats of the next size up - range, firepower, and so on. Two Large guns increase the overall firepower of a Huge mount to 133%. Three Large guns? 199%.

If you have a Huge gun that deals 100 damage, the Large version deals 66, the Medium version deals ~44 and the Small version deals ~28.

Hence, four large guns? ~264% Four medium guns works out to about 175% give or take a few, so you're still getting a pretty beefy firepower boost at the cost of range. Six medium guns? ~264%, again.

-------------------------------------------

GTX2GvO wrote:
But if you want. This mod is only containing the quad turret. So you could easily locate the differences and balance it out in your own edition. ;)
(as long as you credit me for the original work)


If you get the research/tech tree/blueprints parts sorted out, maybe. Having it unlock at game start seems silly.

If you do get all that sorted out, be sure to write a tutorial for everyone else. It's still unexplored territory, after all!

_________________
THE HULL HAS BEEN BREACHED AND THE SCIENCE IS LEAKING OUT!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quad Turret mod
PostPosted: Mon 07 May, 2012 5:14 pm 
Offline
Dart
User avatar

Joined: Thu 03 May, 2012 10:06 pm
Posts: 17
Location: Hungary
I think the actual unlocking should be easy.

Here is the original code for the turrets, in researchDatablocks.cs
| Click to toggle: +
Code:
///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
// Turrets ////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
datablock ResearchDatablock(TurretResearch : ResearchDatablockBase)
{   
   researchElements = "rotationSpeed";
   researchTitle    = "TURRETS";
   
   componentConnection = "Turret";   
   subComponentMask = $WEAPON_DeployableTurretLauncher;
                                  //maxMult maxLevels description
   researchData_rotationSpeed     = "1.5 10 Description Here";
     
   
   researchTotalLevels = 8;   
   
   //Ulocking cost spc stuff spc stuff (if 0 it is auto unlocked for civ stuff)
   initialUnlockList = "SmallTurret" SPC "MediumTurret" SPC "LargeTurret" SPC "HugeTurret" SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_Surplus_M" SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_Surplus_L";
   unlocking[1] = 1 SPC $RR_Common SPC $RSL_Low SPC $RL_All SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_Basic_M" SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_Basic_L";
   unlocking[2] = 2 SPC $RR_UnCommon SPC $RSL_Low SPC $RL_Security SPC "LargeDoubleTurret" SPC "HugeDoubleTurret" SPC "MediumDoubleTurret";
   unlocking[3] = 3 SPC $RR_UnCommon SPC $RSL_Med SPC $RL_Security SPC "SmallFixedTurretMod" SPC "MediumFixedTurretMod" SPC "LargeFixedTurretMod";
   unlocking[4] = 4 SPC $RR_UnCommon SPC $RSL_Med SPC $RL_All SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_Leech_M" SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_Leech_L";
   unlocking[5] = 5 SPC $RR_Rare SPC $RSL_Med SPC $RL_Security SPC "HugeTriTurret";
   unlocking[6] = 6 SPC $RR_UnCommon SPC $RSL_Med SPC $RL_All SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_Ion_M" SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_Ion_L";
   unlocking[7] = 7 SPC $RR_UnCommon SPC $RSL_High SPC $RL_Security SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_TorpRack_M" SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_TorpRack_L";
   unlocking[8] = 8 SPC $RR_Rare SPC $RSL_High SPC $RL_Security SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_BattleStation_M" SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_BattleStation_L";

};

I think adding a line like this would cover it:
Code:
      unlocking[5] = 5 SPC $RR_Rare SPC $RSL_Med SPC $RL_Security SPC "HugeTriTurret";
                ^ this is the level at which the item(s) are unlocked


I have no idea about the blueprints though...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quad Turret mod
PostPosted: Mon 07 May, 2012 5:38 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Fri 25 Feb, 2011 3:39 am
Posts: 1767
This handles the blueprints as well, that $RR_Rare flag tells the system to use 3 blueprints


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quad Turret mod
PostPosted: Mon 07 May, 2012 8:39 pm 
Offline
Volley
User avatar

Joined: Wed 25 Apr, 2012 8:44 am
Posts: 611
Blorfy wrote:
This handles the blueprints as well, that $RR_Rare flag tells the system to use 3 blueprints


The issue is that IF I add it to the same tech level line as the Triple Turret, you can't even select it.

Current situation | Click to toggle: +
//Ulocking cost spc stuff spc stuff (if 0 it is auto unlocked for civ stuff)
initialUnlockList = "SmallTurret" SPC "MediumTurret" SPC "LargeTurret" SPC "HugeTurret" SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_Surplus_M" SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_Surplus_L" SPC "HugeQuadTurret";
unlocking[1] = 1 SPC $RR_Common SPC $RSL_Low SPC $RL_All SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_Basic_M" SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_Basic_L";
unlocking[2] = 2 SPC $RR_UnCommon SPC $RSL_Low SPC $RL_Security SPC "LargeDoubleTurret" SPC "HugeDoubleTurret" SPC "MediumDoubleTurret";
unlocking[3] = 3 SPC $RR_UnCommon SPC $RSL_Med SPC $RL_Security SPC "SmallFixedTurretMod" SPC "MediumFixedTurretMod" SPC "LargeFixedTurretMod";
unlocking[4] = 4 SPC $RR_UnCommon SPC $RSL_Med SPC $RL_All SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_Leech_M" SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_Leech_L";
unlocking[5] = 5 SPC $RR_Rare SPC $RSL_Med SPC $RL_Security SPC "HugeTriTurret";
unlocking[6] = 6 SPC $RR_UnCommon SPC $RSL_Med SPC $RL_All SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_Ion_M" SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_Ion_L";
unlocking[7] = 7 SPC $RR_UnCommon SPC $RSL_High SPC $RL_Security SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_TorpRack_M" SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_TorpRack_L";
unlocking[8] = 8 SPC $RR_Rare SPC $RSL_High SPC $RL_Security SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_BattleStation_M" SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_BattleStation_L";

Here you can at least add it to one of your bigger ships.

Desired situation | Click to toggle: +
//Ulocking cost spc stuff spc stuff (if 0 it is auto unlocked for civ stuff)
initialUnlockList = "SmallTurret" SPC "MediumTurret" SPC "LargeTurret" SPC "HugeTurret" SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_Surplus_M" SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_Surplus_L";
unlocking[1] = 1 SPC $RR_Common SPC $RSL_Low SPC $RL_All SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_Basic_M" SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_Basic_L";
unlocking[2] = 2 SPC $RR_UnCommon SPC $RSL_Low SPC $RL_Security SPC "LargeDoubleTurret" SPC "HugeDoubleTurret" SPC "MediumDoubleTurret";
unlocking[3] = 3 SPC $RR_UnCommon SPC $RSL_Med SPC $RL_Security SPC "SmallFixedTurretMod" SPC "MediumFixedTurretMod" SPC "LargeFixedTurretMod";
unlocking[4] = 4 SPC $RR_UnCommon SPC $RSL_Med SPC $RL_All SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_Leech_M" SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_Leech_L";
unlocking[5] = 5 SPC $RR_Rare SPC $RSL_Med SPC $RL_Security SPC "HugeTriTurret" SPC "HugeQuadTurret";
unlocking[6] = 6 SPC $RR_UnCommon SPC $RSL_Med SPC $RL_All SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_Ion_M" SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_Ion_L";
unlocking[7] = 7 SPC $RR_UnCommon SPC $RSL_High SPC $RL_Security SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_TorpRack_M" SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_TorpRack_L";
unlocking[8] = 8 SPC $RR_Rare SPC $RSL_High SPC $RL_Security SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_BattleStation_M" SPC "DeployableTurretLauncher_BattleStation_L";

But in the desired situation I get that the Tri turret in the main weapons research (showing all weapons) is now a new component and the Quad Turret is nowhere to be found (Not in research and not when selecting turrets).
I'm either doing something wrong here or I'm overlooking something silly.

_________________
My BigBeef mod, Quad Turret mod & Master Dredge base Mod.
Modding for MY OWN Pleasure. :twisted:
Please Help with LoBWaM (List of Base Weapons and Modules)
Official SPAZ mod package (v2.0) Cause people cant find links anymore


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quad Turret mod
PostPosted: Mon 07 May, 2012 9:03 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Fri 25 Feb, 2011 3:39 am
Posts: 1767
This is true. The research system assumes on tech unlock max per level. You can reshuffle the level if you wish though and make turrets go up to level 10 (a restart will be required for it to take effect) Or you can remove some tech you don't want from that list.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quad Turret mod
PostPosted: Mon 07 May, 2012 9:07 pm 
Offline
Hound
User avatar

Joined: Thu 15 Sep, 2011 3:54 am
Posts: 1400
So you are saying that you could change it so that Cannons and Beams could only have a maximum of 8 research levels or change it so that you could have 11 or more research levels?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quad Turret mod
PostPosted: Mon 07 May, 2012 9:14 pm 
Offline
Volley
User avatar

Joined: Wed 25 Apr, 2012 8:44 am
Posts: 611
Blorfy wrote:
This is true. The research system assumes on tech unlock max per level. You can reshuffle the level if you wish though and make turrets go up to level 10 (a restart will be required for it to take effect) Or you can remove some tech you don't want from that list.


Then I'm gonna shove it a bit and make it ten (10) levels.

Also. Where's my Quad turret in The research area?
Will the shoving up fix this?

_________________
My BigBeef mod, Quad Turret mod & Master Dredge base Mod.
Modding for MY OWN Pleasure. :twisted:
Please Help with LoBWaM (List of Base Weapons and Modules)
Official SPAZ mod package (v2.0) Cause people cant find links anymore


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quad Turret mod
PostPosted: Mon 07 May, 2012 9:20 pm 
Offline
Dart
User avatar

Joined: Thu 03 May, 2012 10:06 pm
Posts: 17
Location: Hungary
Palandus wrote:
So you are saying that you could change it so that Cannons and Beams could only have a maximum of 8 research levels or change it so that you could have 11 or more research levels?

This is absolutely possible, it was the first thing I modded in my own game.

Simply change the researchTotalLevels = 8; to the number of desired levels
Although more than 10 might cause UI and possibly other problems...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quad Turret mod
PostPosted: Mon 07 May, 2012 10:04 pm 
Offline
Volley
User avatar

Joined: Wed 25 Apr, 2012 8:44 am
Posts: 611
OK. Good news. And bad news.

First the bad news.
Doesn't matter how much I tweak. My quad turret doesn't show on the big weapons research screen. :(

The good news.
Moved the Torpedo rack and battle station to places 8 & 9 respectively, giving my Quad Turret the 7th spot.
Attachment:
File comment: You can now research it!
2012-05-07_00019.jpg [181.52 KiB]
Not downloaded yet


Also you still have to buy the blueprints. (ALL 3 of them)
Attachment:
File comment: And buy the parts!
2012-05-07_00020.jpg [225.8 KiB]
Not downloaded yet


And when you have enough research points you can even unlock it!
Attachment:
File comment: Unlocked!!
2012-05-07_00021.jpg [107.27 KiB]
Not downloaded yet



But DAMN. It's STILL not showing in the big overall weapons research list. :cry:
(I'm going to call that either a BUG or a MISSING mod tool feature!!)

[edit]
Updated the first post Mod Attachment with the current 99% correct version.
(I've also Disabled crtl+s in it)

_________________
My BigBeef mod, Quad Turret mod & Master Dredge base Mod.
Modding for MY OWN Pleasure. :twisted:
Please Help with LoBWaM (List of Base Weapons and Modules)
Official SPAZ mod package (v2.0) Cause people cant find links anymore


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quad Turret mod
PostPosted: Tue 08 May, 2012 4:37 am 
Offline
Boomerang
User avatar

Joined: Sun 02 Oct, 2011 12:00 am
Posts: 255
Location: England
1 huge = 100%
2 large = 133.3% (1 large is 2/3; 66.6%)
3 large = 200%
4 large = 266.6%
2 medium = 88.8% (1 medium is (2/3)^2; 44.4%)
4 medium = 177.7%

So, 4 medium would be weaker than 3 large, as well as being shorter range - would there be much point? I guess you could have 4 different weapons instead of 3 different weapons...

Maybe instead you should have 2 large and 2 medium:

2 large and 2 medium = 222.2%

This is good because you have be weaker at the range of the large than you would with the 3 large (133.3% vs 200%) but stronger at the range of the medium (222.2% vs 200%). A nice balance and choice to be made.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quad Turret mod
PostPosted: Tue 08 May, 2012 8:58 am 
Offline
Volley
User avatar

Joined: Wed 25 Apr, 2012 8:44 am
Posts: 611
I'm looking at the slot sizes of the Large & Huge turrets and this is the overall turret to shooter size list:


Large turret: Large linkpoint
Large double turret: 2x Medium linkpoint
Large fixed turret: Huge linkpoint

Huge turret: Huge linkpoint
Huge double turret: 2x Large linkpoint
Huge triple turret: 3x Large linkpoint
Huge quad turret: 4x large linkpoint (can "benefit" from just 2x Large + 2x medium linkpoint)
Huge fixed turret: Non-existand(?!)

It seems the Huge double to triple update is already considerable as a sort of overpowered situation.
(2 Large linkpoints to 3 Large linkpoints)

So maybe my decision to go for 4 Large linkpoints isn't so daft after all. :)
(Seeing the size of the "Linkpoint holder" wasn't decreased when making the quad turret image)

I might however need to up the Quad Turret's power consumption and build costs though.
powerConsumption = 1000; (same as triple turret) maybe 1250 here? (25% increase)
RUCost = 100; (Same as triple turret) maybe 120? (20%) Or just 110? (10%)

No. Wait! HugeDoubleTurret ALSO has pC of 1000 and a RUC of 100. :?

_________________
My BigBeef mod, Quad Turret mod & Master Dredge base Mod.
Modding for MY OWN Pleasure. :twisted:
Please Help with LoBWaM (List of Base Weapons and Modules)
Official SPAZ mod package (v2.0) Cause people cant find links anymore


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quad Turret mod
PostPosted: Tue 08 May, 2012 10:05 am 
Offline
Boomerang
User avatar

Joined: Mon 23 May, 2011 6:27 pm
Posts: 253
Location: UK
You could reduce the rotation speed to somewhere between 50 to 80 % of that of the double/triple turrets. I think that would be a pretty fair tradeoff - a huge firepower boost, but bringing that firepower to bear is harder? :)

_________________
THE HULL HAS BEEN BREACHED AND THE SCIENCE IS LEAKING OUT!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quad Turret mod
PostPosted: Tue 08 May, 2012 10:18 am 
Offline
Volley
User avatar

Joined: Wed 25 Apr, 2012 8:44 am
Posts: 611
Arcalane wrote:
You could reduce the rotation speed to somewhere between 50 to 80 % of that of the double/triple turrets. I think that would be a pretty fair tradeoff - a huge firepower boost, but bringing that firepower to bear is harder? :)


Hmm.
Let's see:
HugeSingle rotation: 50 degree/sec
HugeDouble rotation: 50 degree/sec (-0%);(100% of single)
HugeTriple rotation: 45 degree/sec (-10% );(90% of double/single)
HugeQuad rotation: 36 degree/sec (-20%);(80% of triple, 72% of double/single) ?

This should be sufficient then for adding balance?

Updated the Mod containing attachment with the updated (now 36 deg/sec) quad turret rotation and with a minor (very small) naming "bug" fixed.

_________________
My BigBeef mod, Quad Turret mod & Master Dredge base Mod.
Modding for MY OWN Pleasure. :twisted:
Please Help with LoBWaM (List of Base Weapons and Modules)
Official SPAZ mod package (v2.0) Cause people cant find links anymore


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quad Turret mod
PostPosted: Tue 08 May, 2012 6:07 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Fri 25 Feb, 2011 3:39 am
Posts: 1767
Quote:
Also. Where's my Quad turret in The research area?
Will the shoving up fix this?


The research screen is a bit tricky, for the most part it looks at the large version of each tech to place it on the screen, and then a just added the couple extras by hand that didn't have a large counterpart. if you make a large version of the quad turret it should show up


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quad Turret mod
PostPosted: Tue 08 May, 2012 8:52 pm 
Offline
Volley
User avatar

Joined: Wed 25 Apr, 2012 8:44 am
Posts: 611
Blorfy wrote:
The research screen is a bit tricky, for the most part it looks at the large version of each tech to place it on the screen, and then a just added the couple extras by hand that didn't have a large counterpart. if you make a large version of the quad turret it should show up


I think I'd be seeing 2 (minor) issues here:

1. This means I would have to addition a Large triple turret in the mod too.
Cause Why a Large quad if there's no Large triple?
(I assume the triple was added by hand?)

2. Why wasn't this mentioned anywhere else?
Would've saved me some worries.

But if this actually works I could basically round up this mod then.
Seeing that particular research icon is all that still bugs me.

[EDIT]
SWEET JEBUS! What have I done!!! :o :shock:
Image
Attachment:
File comment: Don't stand on the wrong end!
2012-05-08_00001.jpg [54.38 KiB]
Not downloaded yet


Not just that. Now the Triple Turret shows TWICE! on the research screen! :o
One time among the normal turrets and on one the very end for the huge one.

Can this be fixed somehow?
(without removing the large triple turret again, which I've added next to the large quad turret)

_________________
My BigBeef mod, Quad Turret mod & Master Dredge base Mod.
Modding for MY OWN Pleasure. :twisted:
Please Help with LoBWaM (List of Base Weapons and Modules)
Official SPAZ mod package (v2.0) Cause people cant find links anymore


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quad Turret mod
PostPosted: Mon 14 May, 2012 7:35 am 
Offline
Volley
User avatar

Joined: Wed 25 Apr, 2012 8:44 am
Posts: 611
Updated the attached modfiles.

But the issue of my last post has yet to be squished.
(that the triple turret shows twice in the component list)

_________________
My BigBeef mod, Quad Turret mod & Master Dredge base Mod.
Modding for MY OWN Pleasure. :twisted:
Please Help with LoBWaM (List of Base Weapons and Modules)
Official SPAZ mod package (v2.0) Cause people cant find links anymore


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quad Turret mod
PostPosted: Mon 14 May, 2012 7:58 am 
Offline
Hound
User avatar

Joined: Thu 15 Sep, 2011 3:54 am
Posts: 1400
I may be able to help you GTX... send me a copy of your Research.cs (or w/e), and TurretDataBlock.cs; maybe a fresh set of eyes may be able to narrow down the issue.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quad Turret mod
PostPosted: Mon 14 May, 2012 8:09 am 
Offline
Volley
User avatar

Joined: Wed 25 Apr, 2012 8:44 am
Posts: 611
Palandus wrote:
I may be able to help you GTX... send me a copy of your Research.cs (or w/e), and TurretDataBlock.cs; maybe a fresh set of eyes may be able to narrow down the issue.


Those files are available from the mod itself in the first post.
(That's where I update it)

But my guess is that the Huge Triple Turret was added to the Component list by the dev's separately.
As Blorfy mentioned earlier that only the Large size components are automatically searched and displayed.

So since I wanted to have the Quad in this List + have a tad of availability balance, I've added them both to the Large size class.

Seeing there was now (for the main code we can't access) a valid Large triple instance and a hand added Huge Triple instance, it shows twice.

_________________
My BigBeef mod, Quad Turret mod & Master Dredge base Mod.
Modding for MY OWN Pleasure. :twisted:
Please Help with LoBWaM (List of Base Weapons and Modules)
Official SPAZ mod package (v2.0) Cause people cant find links anymore


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quad Turret mod
PostPosted: Mon 02 Jul, 2012 7:27 pm 
Offline
Dart
User avatar

Joined: Wed 25 May, 2011 4:26 pm
Posts: 23
If you haven't already you might want to fix the spelling of Engineer.

_________________
...well, the last time someone asked me a stupid question, i gave a stupid answer, either you talk to me with some intelligence or don't talk to me at all.
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group